My first blog post. My, what a world I never imagined was in my future.

The title comes from my long-held semi-motto, that the end of the world as we know it is the beginning of the world as we DON’T know it. I concluded the often-said phrase, “It’s the end of the world as we know it!” by wondering, if it was what logically came next. And would it be by definition terrible, or just different.

I’ve actually been mulling over writing a blog, like my brilliant friend Phoebe Holmes (herdingcatsblog.wordpress.com), but what finally put me over the edge was the call I got today from my parents.

My 70-some father has been struggling with what we thought was pneumonia lately–serious enough in its own right, but not that uncommon. But today we found out it’s NOT pneumonia–it’s a rare autoimmune disease. Prognosis: without treatment, two years to complete organ failure. The light at the end of the tunnel is that it WAS diagnosed and he WILL be treated. The doctors assured us it’s curable.

But I don’t quite know how to process this. It’s still early so we don’t know how far it’s progressed and thus, how grave it is. I do know that Daddy has to go off all his meds to coddle his kidneys, and that includes diabetes medication and pain meds. He told me there’s nowhere he doesn’t hurt right now, and managing his blood sugar is a constant struggle.

So I don’t know if that light is the end of the tunnel or an oncoming train. I’m sorry I’m rambling a bit and not very upbeat. I just got the call and I’m still trying to figure out how to feel. This is the first time either of my parents has been seriously threatened. I knew it was coming, I’m not stupid (I AM almost 50), but intellectually knowing it doesn’t prepare you for when it starts.

Leave a Reply

